Media Announcements/Resources

Pope Francis appoints Msgr. John Thomas Folda as Bishop of Fargo

Pope Francis appointed Monsignor John Thomas Folda as bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Fargo, which serves more than 71,000 Catholics and 132 parishes and missions in the eastern half of North Dakota. The Holy See made the announcement April 8, 2013, at noon in Rome, 5 a.m. Fargo time.

Bishop Folda is the eighth Bishop of Fargo. He succeeds Bishop Samuel Aquila, who was named Archbishop of Denver on May 29, 2012. Bishop David Kagan, Bishop of Bismarck, has served as Apostolic Administrator of the Diocese of Fargo since Archbishop Aquila was installed in Denver on July 18, 2012.

A priest of the Diocese of Lincoln, Neb., Bishop Folda most recently served as Rector of St. Gregory the Great Seminary in Seward, Neb.

Bishops who previously served the Diocese of Fargo include: Bishop John Shanley, 1889-1909; Bishop James O’Reilly, 1910-1934; Bishop Aloisius J. Muench, 1935-1959; Bishop Leo F. Dworschak, 1960-1970; Bishop Justin A. Driscoll, 1970-1984; Bishop James S. Sullivan, 1985-2002; and Bishop Samuel J. Aquila, 2002-2012. Read the April 8 press release about the appointment of Bishop Folda (PDF).

Radio Broadcasts
Additional Resources